Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians

Lead the MAFP

MAFP Committees

MAFP Committees are appointed by the President with the advice and concurrence of the Board of Directors. Member involvement is important to the strategic direction of the MAFP. The charge and activities of each committee provide leadership and direction on a variety of MAFP initiatives. Become part of our invigorating efforts to advance the specialty of family medicine, strengthen the health care workforce and enhance your ability to provide high quality, cost-effective patient care to your communities. If you are interested in participating in a MAFP committee, please indicate your interest by submitting your online application using this form.

The MAFP standing committees include: (1) Advocacy Committee, (2) Academy Committee, (3) Workforce Committee, (4) Professional Development Committee, and (5) Public Awareness Committee.

ADVOCACY COMMITTEE: To serve as the unified voice of family physicians in Mississippi. The functions  of this committee shall be: (1) to increase visibility of Family Physicians, (2) Engage the public in promoting importance of family medicine, (3) Advise Political Action Committee, (4) Serve as Legislative Bank on medical issues, (5) Create legislative agenda, (6) Advocate for Health Care System Reform, (7) Promote the Patient-Centered Medical Home, (8) Advocate for liability reform, (9) Be informed of new policies of issue from the Board of Medical Licensure.
Members: Tim Alford, MD (Chair), Walter Burnett, MD; Susan Chiarito, MD; Sam Crosby, MD; Wade Dowell, MD; Jennifer Gholson, MD; Luke Lampton, MD, Katherine Patterson, MD

ACADEMY COMMITTEE: Maintaining a dynamic association through an engaged membership, leadership and sufficient resources. The functions of this committee shall be: (1) Recruit and retain members, (2) Review member benefits and services, (3) Website and technology enhancement for membership, (4) Build relationship with Family Medicine Interest Groups; (5) Maintain office building functions, (6) Review the functions of MAFP Committees, (7) Leadership Track for MAFP members (work with Professional Development Committee), (8) Review financial stability of Academy.
ADHOC – Finance Committee, Nominating, Bylaws

Members: Walter Burnett, MD (Chair), Samuel Crosby, MD; Michael Dew, MD; Erin Dewitt, MD; James Griffin, MD; Edward Johnson, MD; Hannah Ray, MD; Rebecca Rose, MD; Marcus Ueltshey, MD; Craig Bullock; Jessica Douglas; Denise Powell

WORKFORCE COMMITTEE: Expanding the family physician workforce to meet patient and community needs. The functions of this committee shall be: (1) To promote MAFP information and events to residency programs, (2) To promote family medicine specialty, (3) to promote rural scholars program, (4) Work with Office of Physician Workforce to develop family medicine residencies, (5) Promote better payment models for physicians, (6) Review preceptor relationships.

Members: Katherine Patterson, MD, (Chair), Jennifer Gholson, MD; Edward Dohahoe, MD; Edward Eldred, MD; Troy Cappleman, MD; Everett McKibben; John Miller, MD; John Mitchell, MD; Sue Simmons, MD; Brent Smith, MD; Elizabeth Fike

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE: Providing education through a variety of delivery mechanisms. The functions of this committee shall be: (1) To plan and conduct the scientific program at the Annual Scientific Assembly, MAFP Spring and Fall conferences, (2) To develop leadership track of Academy members, (3) Assist members with Maintenance of Certification, (4)  Develop Member Networks, (5) Develop and provide new continuing medical education for the benefit of the members of the Academy and of the profession at large, (6) Assist in recruiting exhibits, sponsors, partners for CME.

Members: David Wheat, MD (Chair), Diane Beebe, MD; Lee Greer, MD; Charles Griffith, MD; Bruce Longest, MD; Ned Miller, DO; Katherine Patterson, MD; Timothy Quinn, MD; Susan Frichter

PUBLIC AWARENESS COMMITTEE: Improving public awarenes of the roles and positions of family physicians in Mississippi. The functions of this committee shall be: To maintain communications with members through MAFP Journal, e-newsletter, social media, (2) To provide written articles to the media on family physicians in the community at least three times a year, (3) MAFP website enhancement, (4) Share Patient Education Resources to public, (5) Look for community opportunities for MAFP members, i.e. School health councils, civic organizations, etc., (6) Promote MAFP strategic direction

Members: Susan Chiarito, MD (Chair), Stanley Hartness, MD; Joseph Hunter, MD; Luke Lampton, MD; Carlos Latorre, MD; Kirby James Orme, MD; Kevin Young, MD; Kory Blackwell; Craig Moffat.