Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians

Lead the MAFP

MAFP Districts

Our Academy’s membership is composed of 8 districts to better serve you. Districts are listed below with the counties represented and the local director’s name. Each of the 8 district directors is responsible for bringing concerns and issues facing their members to the board for review. Board members are expected to:

– attend meetings and take part in the decision-making process

– exercise a reasonable degree of knowledge, skill and care in bringing their best judgment to the performance of their responsibilities.

– stay informed on the issues of the Mississippi Academy

– study the materials that are distributed to them

– exercise sound judgment in arriving at decisions

– at meetings, it is important that Board members ask questions, express their thoughts, and receive ideas from other Board members to weigh pros and cons before reaching decisions

District 1: Director Erin DeWitt, MD – Diamondhead, MS, 228-255-8818
George, Green, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River, Stone

District 2: DirectorChrystal Sumrall, MD, FAAFP – Laurel, MS
Covington, Forrest, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Marion, Perry, Wayne

District 3: DirectorKimberly Estes, MD Meadville, MS, 601-384-3199
Adams, Amite, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Pike, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Wilkinson, Winston

District 4: DirectorScott Carlton, MD – Jackson, MS, 601-957-3333

District 5: Director – J. Lee Valentine, DO – Meridian, MS, 601-482-4955
Madison, Rankin

District 6: Director – Carlos Latorre, MD – Vicksburg, MS, 601-636-1173
Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Claiborne, Coahoma, Grenada, Humphreys, Holmes, Issaquena, Leflore, Montgomery, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Yazoo

District 7: Director P. Brent Smith, MD – Cleveland, MS – 662-843-2721
Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, DeSoto, Lafayette, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Panola, Tate, Union, Webster, Yalobusha

District 8: Director – Christopher L. Park, DO – New Albany, MS – 662-435-8166
Alcorn, Itawamba, Lee, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo

At Large: Director – Christy B. Vowell, DO – Eupora, MS – 662-258-7200