Resident and Student Board Members

Resident Board Members, L-R: Banks, Biswas, Booth, Moffett.

Election Results for Student and Resident Board Members 2017

Student and resident board members for the MAFP and MAFP Foundation Boards were recently elected by their peers at Spring Fling Conference. This year, candidates submitted a letter of interest, current CV and photo and participated in a “Meet the Candidates Forum” on Friday, April 21 at the Spring Fling Crawfish Boil.  Candidates introduced themselves to the MAFP audience of students, residents and physicians and explained why they were interested in serving in a leadership role as a board member.

Votes were cast by MAFP student and resident members on Saturday, April 22 and the newly elected board members for the 2017-2018 term are pictured on this page.  These students and residents will participate in an induction ceremony for MAFP or MAFP Foundation Board during the Annual Meeting in Sandestin FL this year.

Resident board members are:  Ashlie Booth, MD (UMMC PGY-2), Brock Banks (UMMC M-4 / Forrest General), Craig Moffett (WCUCOM M-4 / NMMC) and Moumita Biswas, DO (EC HealthNet PGY-1).

Student board members are:  Terry Moran (WCUCOM M3), Caleb Zumbro (UMMC M3), Will Casey (UMMC M3) and Craig Bullock (UMMC M3).

Student Board Members L-R: Moran, Bullock, Casey,  Zumbro.

These board members will represent student and resident membership throughout the state.  Each board meets at least 3 times per year (Spring Conference – Jackson MS, Annual Meeting – Sandestin FL, Fall Meeting – TBD and December Social (TBD).

Candidates must meet the following criteria to be eligible to run for a board position:

– A member of the AAFP / MAFP.

– A 2nd or 3rd year medical student in good standing at a medical school.

– A resident in good standing at a residency program.

(NOTE: M4 students should apply for the resident position, as the term office runs from MAFP Annual Meeting in July, 2017 to the following July, 2018.)