President Sue H. Simmons, MD Maben

President – Elect Walter M. Burnett, MD Yazoo City

Vice President Katherine T. Patterson, MD Indianola

> Secretary David B. Wheat, MD Clinton

Treasurer William E. Loper, III, MD Ridgeland

Immediate Past President Samuel N. Crosby, MD Hattiesburg

> Executive Director Beth Embry Madison

AAFP Delegates Timothy J. Alford, MD Kosciusko

Lucius M. Lampton, MD Magnolia

AAFP Alternate Delegates John R. Mitchell, MD Pontotoc

> Susan A. Chiarito, MD Vicksburg

> > Directors District 1 Erin DeWitt, MD Diamondhead

District 2 James W. Griffin, MD New Augusta

District 3 Kimberly Estes, MD Meadville

District 4 Scott A. Carlton, MD Jackson

District 5 J. Lee Valentine, DO Meridian

District 6 Carlos A. Latorre, MD Vicksburg

> District 7 P. Brent Smith, MD Cleveland

District 8 Christopher L. Park, DO New Albany

Director at Large Christy B. Vowell, DO Eupora



Contact: Kristen Kern Phone: (601) 853-3302 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 15, 2017

Family Physician Beebe Honored by Peers

RIDGELAND – Diane K. Beebe, M.D., of Jackson was honored by the MAFP for her years of service to the organization. An MAFP member since 1984, she was formally recognized with a resolution presented to her at a meeting April 21 of the MAFP Board of Directors.

Dr. Beebe has announced she will retire June 30 as the Chair and Professor of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center. She has previously served as Vice Chairman and Residency Director for the Department of Family Medicine at the UMMC Medical Center, mentoring thousands of medical students over the years.

"Dr. Beebe taught so many medical students to be compassionate and competent physicians," said MAFP President Dr. Sue Simmons of Maben. "We are grateful for her service."

Dr. Beebe has been instrumental in the advancement of the Family Medicine specialty in Mississippi. She served as the first director of the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce, created by the Mississippi Legislature in 2012. She was also a commissioner for the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program, established in 2007. Both these programs have resulted in awareness of the shortage of - and the increasing need for - family physicians in our state.

Dr. Beebe served as a member and chair of the American Board of Family Medicine and the chair of the ACGME Residency Review Committee for Family Medicine. She contributed extensively to national medical publications as a writer, editor, and reviewer.

The resolution reads of Dr. Beebe: "Her selfless contributions to the medical profession, her community, her state, and her nation are too numerous to list but noted with deep gratitude."

###

The MAFP has over 1,000 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi. The vision of the MAFP is for every person in Mississippi to have access and availability to a well-trained family physician to manage their medical care.

MISSION: Dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi.