President

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

President - Elect

David B. Wheat, MD, FAAFP Clinton

Vice President

William M. Grantham, MD Clinton

Secretary James W. Griffin, MD New Augusta

Treasurer

William E. Loper, III, MD, FAAFP Ridgeland

Immediate Past President

Sue H. Simmons, MD Maben

**Executive Director** 

Beth Embry Madison

AAFP Delegates

Timothy J. Alford, MD, FAAFP Kosciusko

Lucius M. Lampton, MD, FAAFP Magnolia

**AAFP Alternate Delegates** 

John R. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP Pontotoc

Susan A. Chiarito, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

**Directors** 

District 1 Paul M. Pavlov, MD Biloxi

District 3 J. Lee Valentine, DO Meridian

District 4 Scott A. Carlton, MD Jackson

District 5 John P. Vanderloo, MD Madison

District 6 Carlos A. Latorre, MD Vicksburg

District 7 T. Bruce Longest, MD Bruce

District 8 Christopher L. Park, DO New Albany

Director at Large Christy B. Vowell, MD Eupora

Director at Large P. Brent Smith, MD, MSC, FAAFP Cleveland



Ridgeland, MS 39157 601-853-3302 (P) 601-853-3002 (F) ANS www.msafp.org

## JACKSON PHYSICIAN HONORED WITH **HUMANITARIAN AWARD**

JACKSON, April 30, 2018 – Robert Smith, MD, ABFM, FAAFP, of Jackson, was presented with the Humanitarian Award by the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) in Jackson on April 21.

The award is given by fellow physicians in honor of a Mississippi family physician with a lifetime of service in uplifting humanity, social justice and the health of all citizens, especially the underserved and those in greatest need. This is only the second time the award has been given by MAFP – the first was to the late Dr. Gilbert R. Mason of Biloxi, the first recipient in 2012.

Dr. Smith graduated from Howard University School of Medicine in Washington D.C. in 1961, a time when African-Americans could not attend medical school in Mississippi. Upon his return to our state, he founded the Medical Committee for Human Rights when the fight for Civil Rights was at its tumultuous peak in 1963, and provided health care to Civil Rights workers repeatedly at personal risk to himself. He co-founded the first community health center in Mound Bayou in 1965, meeting an urgent need of the underserved population of the Delta. These centers are now called FQHCs

"Dr. Smith has truly blazed a trail in Mississippi for so many physicians to follow," said Dr. Katherine Patterson, FAAFP, current MAFP President. "He faced so many obstacles both personally and professionally, and he persevered."

Smith has been a member of MAFP since 1972 and has been an active participant in Academy activities, conferences, and meetings. His long career in medicine has been capped by two recent honors: he received the American Medical Association's Medal of Valor in 2017 and was recognized by the Mississippi Legislature in 2017 with a resolution honoring his achievements and dubbing him the 'Champion and Hero of Health Care in Mississippi.'

Smith and his wife, Otrie, live in Jackson. They have three children, Claude, Donna and Robert Jr., an adopted daughter, Pamela, and two grandchildren.

## ###

The MAFP has over 1,100 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi. The vision of the MAFP is for every person in Mississippi to have access and availability to a well-trained family physician to manage their medical care.

MISSION: Dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi.