President David B. Wheat, MD, FAAFP Clinton

> **President – Elect** William M. Grantham, MD Clinton

> > Vice President James W. Griffin, MD New Augusta

Secretary Carlos A. Latorre, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

Treasurer William E. Loper, III, MD, FAAFP Ridgeland

Immediate Past President Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

> Executive Director Beth Embry Madison

AAFP Delegates Timothy J. Alford, MD, FAAFP Kosciusko

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

> AAFP Alternate Delegates John R. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP Pontotoc

Susan A. Chiarito, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

> Directors District 1 Paul M. Pavlov, MD Biloxi

District 2 Chrystal A. Sumrall, MD, FAAFP Laurel

> District 3 J. Lee Valentine, DO Meridian

District 4 Evelyn R. Walker, MD Jackson

District 5 John P. Vanderloo, MD Madison

District 6 Stephen C. Hammack, MD Kosciusko

> *District 7* T. Bruce Longest, MD Bruce

District 8 Christopher L. Park, DO New Albany

Director at Large Christy B. Vowell, MD Eupora

Director at Large P. Brent Smith, MD, MSC, FAAFP Cleveland



KOSCIUSKO PHYSICIAN HONORED AS MISSISSIPPI'S FAMILY PHYSICIAN OF THE YEAR

RIDGELAND – Tim Alford, MD, of Kosciusko, was honored as Mississippi's Family Physician of the Year 2018 at the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) Annual Meeting in July.

The John B. Howell, MD, Memorial Award, as it is formally known, was first given in 1977 in memory of Dr. Howell, a pioneer in the practice of family medicine and long-time delegate to the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). The individuals who have held the title exemplify the most outstanding qualities of a family physician. They are admired by their peers and looked up to by citizens of their communities.

Dr. Alford has been the poster boy for involvement in the MAFP, having served as president in 2001-02, Foundation president for 5 years, and on the national level, representing Mississippi on the AAFP Congress of Delegates for the past 16 years. He was even selected as the AAFP's official torch bearer for the 2010 Vancouver Olympics.

A native of Greenwood, Miss., he graduated from Greenwood High School, earned a bachelor's degree from Millsaps College and went on to complete medical school at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson in 1983. He

completed his family medicine residency in Columbus, Georgia, where he served as

chief resident, before returning to Mississippi to practice medicine.

MISSION: Dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi.

Dr. Alford practiced as a family physician with Premier Medical Management at Kosciusko Medical Clinic for almost 30 years before opening Kosy Direct Care, where he worked for two years. He presently works at Kosciusko's Baptist Medical Center.

But what really sets him apart as a natural selection for Family Physician of the Year is his commitment to community. He is founding and current chairman of Kosciusko Foundation for Excellence in Education. He served on the Kosciusko City School Board for ten years, and is a former PTA president. Dr. Alford is the founding organizer of Kosciusko-Attala Habitat for Humanity and the former baseball commissioner for Kosciusko Parks and Recreation.

Alford and his wife, Mary Al, live in Kosciusko. Their three children are Timothy Alford (Mary

Bruce), Leah Mabry Hendrix (Tal), and John Paul Alford (Jana). Their grandchildren include Gray, Virginia

and Stella Alford; Cobb, Ann Mabry, Mary Tait and Walt Hendrix; and Sawyer and Mobley Alford.

###

The MAFP has over 1,100 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi. The vision of the MAFP is for every person in Mississippi to have access and availability to a well-trained family physician to manage their medical care.