President

David B. Wheat, MD, FAAFP Clinton

President - Elect

William M. Grantham, MD Clinton

Vice President

James W. Griffin, MD New Augusta

Secretary

Carlos A. Latorre, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

Treasurer

William E. Loper, III, MD, FAAFP Ridgeland

Immediate Past President

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

Executive Director

Beth Embry Madison

AAFP Delegates

Timothy J. Alford, MD, FAAFP Kosciusko

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

AAFP Alternate Delegates

John R. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP Pontotoc

Susan A. Chiarito, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

Directors

District 1 Paul M. Pavlov, MD Biloxi

District 2

Chrystal A. Sumrall, MD, FAAFP Laurel

District 3

J. Lee Valentine, DO Meridian

District 4 Evelyn R. Walker, MD

Jackson

District 5 John P. Vanderloo, MD Madison

District 6 Stephen C. Hammack, MD

> District 7 T. Bruce Longest, MD Bruce

Kosciusko

District 8 Christopher L. Park, DO New Albany

Director at Large Christy B. Vowell, MD Eupora



Ridgeland, MS 39157 601-853-3302 (P) 601-853-3002 (F) IANS www.msafp.org

VICKSBURG PHYSICIAN RECEIVES HONOR FROM AMERICAN ACADEMY OF FAMILY PHYSICIANS

JACKSON, September 18, 2018 – Carlos Latorre, MD, FAAFP, a family physician in Vicksburg, has achieved the Degree of Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), the national medical association representing nearly 129,000 family physicians, residents and medical students.

Criteria for receiving the AAFP degree of fellow consists of a minimum of six years of membership in the organization, extensive continuing medical education, participation in public service programs outside medical practice, conducting original research and serving as a teacher in family medicine.

"Being recognized with the Degree of Fellow has great significance among family physicians," said MAFP President Dr. David Wheat, FAAFP, of Clinton. "Not only does it represent the respect of one's peer physicians, but it symbolizes high personal standards as well. We are so glad to have Dr. Latorre among our ranks."

Dr. Latorre has been a member of MAFP since 2011 and was recently elected secretary. He is a past president of the MAFP Foundation.

Dr. Latorre is a graduate of the University of Southern Mississippi with both a bachelor's and a master's degree. He completed medical school in 2008 at the University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine in San Juan, PR, and completed his 3year family medicine residency at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, where he served as chief resident his final year.

Currently on sabattical with the Veteran Health Administration in Arlington, Texas, Dr. Latorre most recently worked in Vicksburg at Merit Health River Region for six years. Active in the community, he has held several past leadership positions on Merit Health's River Region Board, Primary Care Physician Advisory Council and Physician Engagement Committee. He volunteers his services at the First Baptist Church Free Clinic and is a team physician and Patron Chairman for the Miss Mississippi Pageant in Vicksburg.

MISSION: Dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi.

A local physician leader, Dr. Latorre is the current president of the West Mississippi Medical Society. He also mentors medical and nursing students by serving as a Preceptor.

Dr. Latorre is a graduate of the MS State Medical Association's Physician Leadership Academy and received that organization's 2015 Doctor of Distinction award. MSMA also awarded him the James C. Waites Leadership Award in 2014. He was recently elected to represent his area of the state on the MSMA's Medical Service Council and has served on several committees in the past.

###

The MAFP has over 1,100 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi. The vision of the MAFP is for every person in Mississippi to have access and availability to a well-trained family physician to manage their medical care.