President

William M. Grantham, MD Clinton

President - Elect

James W. Griffin, MD New Augusta

Vice President

Carlos A. Latorre, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

Secretary

Paul M. Pavlov, MD Biloxi

Treasurer

Bradley Suggs Brandon

Immediate Past President

David B. Wheat, MD, FAAFP Clinton

Executive Director

Beth Embry Madison

AAFP Delegates

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

> John R. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP Pontotoc

AAFP Alternate Delegates

Susan A. Chiarito, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

P. Brent Smith, MD, MSC, FAAFP Cleveland

Directors

District 1 Angela C. Jones Poplarville

District 2

Chrystal A. Sumrall, MD, FAAFP

District 3

James W. Ervin, MD, FAAFP Crystal Springs

> District 4 Evelyn R. Walker, MD Jackson

District 5

John P. Vanderloo, MD Madison

District 6 Stephen C. Hammack, MD Kosciusko

> District 7 T. Bruce Longest, MD Bruce

District 8 Christopher L. Park, DO New Albany

Director at Large Christy B. Vowell, DO Eupora

Director at Large Anna Marie Hailey-Sharp, MD Preston



Ridgeland, MS 39157 601-853-3302 (P) 601-853-3002 (F) NS www.msafp.org

MERIDIAN PHYSICIAN RECEIVES SCHOLARSHIP GIVEN IN DR. DEWITT G. CRAWFORD'S NAME

JACKSON, August 2019 – **Dr. Moumita Biswas**, a family physician resident at EC-HealthNet Family Medicine Residency in Meridian, was awarded the 2019 Dewitt G. Crawford Memorial Scholarship from the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) Foundation.

The scholarship was established in 2016 by Mrs. Dewitt G. Crawford in her late husband's name. Recipients must exhibit leadership gained through life experience and show a commitment to involvement as a future MAFP leader.

Dr. Biswas is a graduating third-year resident at EC Healthnet. She earned a bachelor's degree from Millsaps College, a master's degree from the University of Mississippi Medical Center, and a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Dr. Biswas has volunteered at the Meridian Free Clinic during her residency. She is also a participant in the Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program. Later this year she will begin her medical career as a family physician at MEA Medical Clinics in Yazoo City.

Dr. Biswas has been active in the MAFP, serving as a resident board member on the MAFP Foundation, and as a member of the MAFP Workforce Committee.

As part of the scholarship, Dr. Biswas attended the MAFP Annual Meeting July 20-24 in Destin, Florida, to network with family physicians and attend educational sessions. At this meeting she and Mrs. Crawford had the opportunity to spend time together and take a photo (attached).

MISSION: Supporting Family Medicine physicians as they improve the health of all Mississippians.

Dr. Dewitt Crawford attended the University of Mississippi Medical Center and began his family medicine career in 1961 with his father, Dr. John Albert Crawford, in his hometown of Louisville. He was a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians from 1988 to his death in January 2016. In 1994, he was honored by the MAFP as the Family Physician of the Year and he was the 2008-09 MAFP President.

###

The MAFP has over 1,100 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to supporting Family Medicine physicians as they improve the health of all Mississippians. The vision of the MAFP is for every person in Mississippi to have access and availability to a well-trained family physician to manage their medical care.