President

Carlos A. Latorre, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

President - Elect

Paul M. Pavlov, MD Biloxi

Vice President

Stephen C. Hammack, MD, FAAFP Madison

Secretary

John P. Vanderloo, MD, FAAFP Jackson

Treasurer

Bradley J. Suggs, MD, FAAFP Brandon

Immediate Past President

James W. Griffin, MD Hattiesburg

Executive Director

Beth Embry Madison

17-21.

AAFP Delegates

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

P. Brent Smith, MD, MSC, FAAFP Cleveland

AAFP Alternate Delegates

Jennifer D. Gholson, MD Summit

> Dustin Gentry, MD Louisville

Directors

District 1 Angela C. Jones, MD

Poplarville

District 2 Chrystal A. Sumrall, MD, FAAFP Laurel

District 3

James W. Ervin, MD, FAAFP Crystal Springs

District 4

Scott C. Martin, MD Clinton

District 5 Amy Hollman, MD Brandon

District 6

Erik Lessman, MD, FAAFP Indianola

> District 7 Emily B. Landrum, MD Starkville

> > District 8

Lakeisha R. Chism, MD Verona

Director at Large Anna Marie Hailey-Sharp, MD

Preston

Director at Large Jeremy B. Wells. MD Hattiesburg



Ridgeland, MS 39157 601-853-3302 (P) 601-853-3002 (F)

VICKSBURG DOCTOR HONORED WITH MAFP'S **'FAMILY PHYSICIAN OF THE YEAR' AWARD**

Giffin, MD, a Vicksburg family physician, was honored as Family Physician of the Year for 2021 by the Mississippi Academy of Family

JACKSON, July 28, 2021 - Robert Lee



The MAFP was founded in 1949 and

has more than 1,300 members statewide. Dr. Giffin is a past president of the MAFP, having served in 2000-2001 after serving in leadership positions on the board and executive committee.

Dr. Giffin is a family physician in private practice at Mission Primary Care Clinic in Vicksburg. He has practiced in Vicksburg for 36 years and is on the hospital staffs of Merit Health River Region.

Dr. Giffin is actively involved in the Mississippi State Medical Association, having served as Speaker of the House and Vice Speaker of the House as well as been honored with the MSMA Community Service Award and its James C. Waites Leadership Award. He was also honored by Mississippi Public Health Nurses during his career.

MISSION: Supporting Family Medicine physicians as they improve the health of all Mississippians.

Dr. Giffin is a graduate of Mississippi State University and attended medical school at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. He continued his training at UMMC with its Family Medicine Residency Program, serving as assistant chief resident and earning the CIBA Geigy Award.

As one MAFP past president said about Dr. Giffin, "His deep and abiding understanding of our profession seems to have him always speaking up for 'the least of these.' His quiet diplomacy has worked and turned many discussions for the good of our patients. He seems to always weigh a policy concern against how this would affect his own patients."

Active in his community, Dr. Giffin served as medical director of the 807 HIV Clinic - a volunteer clinic for HIV Positive and AIDS patients - for almost 30 years, while he has served as a deacon and an elder in his church. He volunteers doing physicals for Special Olympics athletes in Vicksburg, and has completed medical mission trips to Belize with the volunteer mission organization, Cardiolife.

Dr. Giffin is the son of the late Dr. and Mrs. James R. Giffin of Louisville. He and his wife, Dee Dee, live in Vicksburg. His children include Mary Claire Giffin-Stumpf, Melissa Giffin Coker, Kaylen Dees Giffin and his stepson Rob Jarvis. His grandchildren include Mamie Lee Coker and Anna Jane Coker.

###

The MAFP has over 1,300 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to advancing the specialty of Family Medicine and improving the health of all people in Mississippi. The vision of the MAFP is for every person in Mississippi to have access and availability to a well-trained family physician to manage their medical care.

