President

Paul M. Pavlov, MD Biloxi

President - Elect

Stephen C. Hammack, MD, FAAFP Madison

Vice President

John P. Vanderloo, MD, FAAFP Jackson

Secretary

Bradley J. Suggs, MD, FAAFP **Brandon**

Treasurer

Chrystal A. Sumrall, MD, FAAFP Laurel

Immediate Past President

Carlos A. Latorre, MD, FAAFP Vicksburg

Executive Director

Beth Embry Madison

AAFP Delegates

Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP Indianola

P. Brent Smith, MD, MSC, FAAFP Cleveland

AAFP Alternate Delegates

Jennifer D. Gholson, MD Summit

J. Dustin Gentry, MD, FAAFP Louisville

Directors

District 1 Angela C. Jones, MD Poplarville

District 2

Katherine O. Royals, MD Hattiesburg

District 3

James W. Ervin, MD, FAAFP Crystal Springs

> District 4 J. Anthony Cloy, MD

Jackson

District 5 Amy Hollman, MD Brandon

District 6 Marketta R. Blue, MD Mound Bayou

District 7

Emily B. Landrum, MD Starkville

District 8

Christopher L. Park, DO Pontotoc

Director at Large Anna Marie Hailey-Sharp, MD Preston

> Director at Large Jeremy B. Wells, MD Hattiesburg



Ridgeland, MS 39157 601-853-3302 (P) 601-853-3002 (F) \sqrt{S} www.msafp.org

INDIANOLA DOCTOR HONORED AS **FAMILY PHYSICIAN OF THE YEAR**

JACKSON, August 12, 2022 - Family physician Katherine T. Patterson, MD, FAAFP, of Indianola, was honored with the John B. Howell, MD, Memorial Award, also known as the Family Physician of the Year award, by the Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) at its Annual Meeting July 16-20.

The award is presented annually to the family physician contributing the most to the development of family medicine in Mississippi. It recognizes a physician who provides his or her community with compassionate and comprehensive medical service on a continuous basis. They must be directly and effectively involved in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of life in his or her home area.

Dr. Patterson is board-certified by the American Board of Family Medicine and has practiced for 15 years in Indianola at Indianola Family Medicine and South Sunflower Hospital.

After receiving an undergraduate degree from the University of Southern Mississippi, Dr. Patterson went on to graduate from the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. She completed family medicine residency at Corpus Christi Family Medicine Residency in Corpus Christi, TX, before returning to Mississippi to practice.

One of the state's only family physicians who practices obstetrics, our honoree delivers babies almost daily, caring for mothers, infants and children in a rural, underserved area.

MISSION: Improve the health of all people in Mississippi by supporting family medicine physicians.

Despite being a family physician, Dr. Patterson was voted 'Best Pediatrician' by readers of the Enterprise Tocsin in 2021. Never one to sit back and wait for a need to be filled, she served as the lead physician for South Sunflower Hospital's 3-year effort to be certified as a Baby Friendly Hospital, one of

only 3 hospitals statewide (and the only rural one) to earn the designation.

Dr. Patterson has the ability to communicate complicated issues on a level that a layperson can understand. Not only does she teach and mentor many medical students and residents each year, in 2021 she was interviewed in the 'Bridging the Great Divide' television documentary, bringing awareness

to the difficulties of rural health care.

Dr. Patterson has led the MAFP in just about every role possible. She served as MAFP president in 2017-18 after service on the board. Dr. Patterson currently serves as Delegate to the American Academy of Family Physicians, Advocacy Committee Chair, and FamDocPAC chair. She has earned the AAFP's Degree of Fellow. Dr. Patterson is also involved in the Mississippi State Medical Association and the American Medical Association. She has served since 2013 on the board of the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce.

Patterson believes in giving back to her community, and she served for two years as a volunteer physician advisor at the Good Samaritan Clinic in Sunflower County. Patterson is president of the Friends of the Henry M. Seymour Library, secretary of the Indianola Civic League, and serves on several church boards.

Personally, she and her husband, David, have four sons, Samuel, Reilly, Nicholas, and John Kastens. They are members of Indianola's First United Methodist Church.

Photo caption: The 2021 honoree Dr. Lee Giffin presented Dr. Patterson with the award.

###

Founded in 1949, the MAFP has over 1,200 members consisting of physicians, residents and medical students. The MAFP is dedicated to supporting family medicine physicians as they improve the health of all Mississippians. MAFP envisions a family physician for every Mississippian.

