PAST WINNERS, MS FAMILY

| PHYSICIAN OF THE Y | EAR |
|------------------------------|------|
| James Otis Stephens, MD* | |
| Charles R. Jenkins, MD* | 1978 |
| William H. Parker, MD* | 1979 |
| Joseph E. Johnston, MD | 1980 |
| Hardy B. Woodbridge, MD* | 1981 |
| Addison T. Tatum, MD* | 1982 |
| Ralph L. Brock, MD | 1983 |
| William B. Hunt, MD* | 1984 |
| Charles D. Taylor, MD* | 1985 |
| Max L. Pharr, MD* | 1986 |
| James C. Waites, MD* | 1987 |
| Tom H. Mitchell, MD | 1988 |
| Eugene G. Wood, Jr., MD | |
| J. Edward Hill, MD | 1990 |
| Walter H. Rose, MD | 1001 |
| John M. Patterson, MD | 1002 |
| Eugene F. Webb, MD* | 1003 |
| Dewitt G. Crawford, MD* | 100/ |
| Walter D. Gunn, MD* | 1005 |
| Frank W. Bowen, MD* | 1006 |
| J. Gilbert Alexander, MD | 1007 |
| D. Stanley Hartness, Jr., MD | 1000 |
| Dayton E. Whites, MD | 1000 |
| Austin P. Boggan, MD* | 2000 |
| David L. Clippinger, MD | 2000 |
| Kelly S. Segars, Sr., MD | 2007 |
| Dwalia S. South, MD | 2002 |
| Leonard H. Brandon, MD* | 2003 |
| Harry C. Frye, MD | 2005 |
| William A. Middleton, MD* | 2006 |
| Howard D. Clark, MD | 2007 |
| George R. Bush, MD | 2008 |
| Albert L. Gore, MD* | 2009 |
| Louis Rubenstein, MD | 2010 |
| Ben Kitchings, MD* | 2011 |
| Gary Holdiness, MD* | 2012 |
| Lucius M Lampton MD | 2013 |
| James Calloway, Jr., MD* | 2014 |
| Word M. Johnston, MD | 2015 |
| John F. Hassell, MD | 2016 |
| Virgil Isaac Aultman, MD | 2017 |
| Timothy Alford, MD | 2018 |
| William Jackson, MD | 2019 |
| Jack C. Evans, MD | |
| Robert Lee Giffin, MD | |
| Katherine T. Patterson, MD | |
| | |
| | |

PAST WINNERS, MILITARY SERVICE AWARD

Brig. Gen. Albert L. Gore, MD* (2006) Brig. Gen. Horton G. Taylor, MD* (2007) Lt. Colonel Edward L. Carruth, MD (2008) Brig. Gen. Edgar E. Bobo, MD* (2009) Colonel Kevin R. Koehler, MD (2010) Major General J.D. Polk, MD (2018) Col. Scott Carlton, MD (2019) Lt. Col. Brian K. Friloux, MD (2020) James Jefferson, MD, Jackson (2022)

PAST WINNERS, **HUMANITARIAN AWARD**

| Gilbert R. Mason, Sr., MD* | .2012 |
|--------------------------------|-------|
| Robert Smith, MD | .2018 |
| Alton Cobb, MD, MPH | .2020 |
| John R. Mitchell, MD, FAAFP | .2021 |
| D. Melessa Phillips, MD, FAAFP | 2022 |



MAFP will contact nominees or a nominee's family member. to ask for CV and other necessary information for the judges. Winners are chosen by the Awards Committee.

Name of Nominee:

Submitted for (choose one):

- □ Family Physician of the Year
- □ Military Service Award
- Humanitarian Award
- □ New Physician of the Year (completed residency 7 or less years ago)

Why is this physician deserving of the award?

Physician should meet these criteria to be nominated for Family Physician of the Year, New Physician of the Year and Military Service Award:

- Provides patients with compassionate, comprehensive and caring medicine on a continuing basis.
- Is directly and effectively involved in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of his/her community.
- Is involved in MAFP/AAFP. •
- Provides a credible role model professionally and personally to his/her community, • to other health professionals and residents/medical students.
- Can effectively represent the specialty of family medicine and the MAFP.

Physician should meet these criteria for the Humanitarian Award:

- Exhibits a commitment to the ideals of family medicine by striving to improve access • and to fill gaps in the health care delivery system for underserved populations in Mississippi
- Advanced the health care status of the public through innovation and medical education
- Has shown an outstanding commitment to patients and communities in need
- Demonstrates courageous leadership in addressing issues or social justice regarding access to health care and for training in health care professions.

For Military Service Award, please answer the following:

•

Branch of Military Service: Rank/Grade: List Military Awards or Veteran's Organizations:

Nominator's Name:

Nominator's E-mail:

Supporting materials may be included with the nomination but are not required.

| PAST WINNERS, | | |
|--------------------------------|------|--|
| NEW PHYSICIAN OF THE | YEAR | |
| Jeremy Wells, MD | 2018 | |
| Patrick Brent Smith, MD, FAAFP | 2019 | |
| Sarah E. Barowka, MD, FAAFP | 2020 | |
| J. Dustin Gentry, MD | 2021 | |
| Kelly S. Tullos, MD | 2022 | |
| *deceased | | |

You may return this form, although returning this form is not necessary as long as the requested information is included. **Send nominations to Beth Embry at** <u>beth@msafp.org.</u> or mail to MAFP 755 Avignon Drive, Ridgeland, MS 39157.

DEADLINE FOR SUBMISSIONS IS JUNE 1, 2024