Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians


Lead the MAFP

Each member plays a vital role in the success of the MAFP. There are multiple opportunities with different commitment levels for you to be involved in with our Academy at either a state or national level. We encourage you to take a look and find where your talents can be utilized within the MAFP.

MAFP Board of Directors

MAFP Districts

MAFP Committees


Dr. Samuel Crosby, Nominating Committee Chair


Now’s your chance to serve on the MAFP Board of Directors. Board members are expected to attend meetings, and to take part in the decision-making process.  They are also required to exercise a reasonable degree of knowledge, skill and care in bringing their best judgment to the performance of their responsibilities.  It is the duty of the Board members to stay informed on the issues of the Mississippi Academy; to study the materials that are distributed to them; and to exercise sound judgment in arriving at decisions. At a meeting of the Board, it is important that Board members ask questions, express their thoughts, and receive ideas from other Board members to weigh pros and cons before reaching a decision. Please contact MAFP Executive Director Beth Embry or Nominating Committee Chair Dr. Samuel Crosby if you are interested. The following positions on the board will be filled by the Nominating Committee in 2017:

Vice President (1-year term)

Secretary (1-year term)

District 1 Director representing George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River and Stone counties (2-year term)

District 3 Director representing Adams, Amite, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Pike, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Wilkinson and Winston counties (2-year term)

District 5 Director representing Madison and Rankin counties (2-year term)

District 7 Director representing Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, DeSoto, Lafayette, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Panola, Tate, Union, Webster, Yalobusha (2-year term)

Member at Large (2-year term)