Mississippi Academy of Family Physicians

Public Awareness


Each year the MAFP gives out awards based on a member’s dedication and contribution to family medicine. To nominate a member, please review the criteria for each award and complete the nomination form(s) below. The awards will be presented this July during the MAFP Annual Scientific Assembly.

Past Winners – Family Physician of the Year

Past Winners – Military Service Award

Past Winners – Humanitarian Award

MAFP Family Physician of the Year Award:
This award is presented annually to the physician contributing the most to the development of Family Medicine in the state. Known as the John B. Howell Memorial Award, this honor recognizes a physician that provides his/her community with compassionate and comprehensive medical service on a continuous basis. They must be directly and effectively involved in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of life of his/her home area. Family Physician of the Year Application 2018

MAFP Military Service Award:
The MAFP wants to recognize the men and women who have served or currently serve in the most honorable and vital profession, our military. They train to respond to their community and country in time of need. If you know a physician that has served or is serving in the military, please take the time to complete the application for this prestigious award. Military Service Award Application 2018

MAFP Humanitarian Award:
This award is given to family physicians that exhibit a commitment to the ideals of family medicine by striving to improve access and to fill gaps in the health care delivery system for underserved populations in Mississippi. These physicians have shown an outstanding commitment to patients and communities in need and use their leadership in addressing issue of social justice regarding access to health care. Humanitarian Award Application 2018